Between 1933 and 1943 the French colonial administration
established a hill station on Mount Bach Ma. This hill station comprised two
hotels, 130 holiday cottages, a swimming pool and a tennis court. Of the
original buildings, however, only ruins now remain. Since reunification in
1975, a tourism resort has been re-established at Bach Ma. There is a
guesthouse at the national park headquarters and several nature trails. The
forest at the national park protects two important watersheds, which supply
water for irrigation and domestic use to households in the surrounding
lowlands.